Family, motherhood

Meal Plan: Week One

Does anyone else hate cooking, or is that just a me thing? Finding easy recipes that don’t take me hours is something that I live for and having two young girls, I always have an eye open for healthy meals. My youngest is a very picky eater, so that’s been a challenge but we make it work.

Ryan and I try to sit down and plan our meals for the week on Sunday and then I usually do the shopping Sunday afternoon. I find this also helps us to coordinate our weeks with each other (we both work jobs where we don’t always get out when we plan! Nurse life, what can I say) We love to try new recipes and we usually find at least one that we can keep and use again! With that being said, I wanted to start a weekly series on here where I post what we have planned for the week and links to the recipes. I love gathering ideas from other mamas, and I figured if I can make week nights a little bit easier for even one family, I’ll be happy 🙂 So here goes nothing.

Week One. 

Monday: This week, I think, Monday will be our busiest day. We have plans to meet with a potential photographer for our wedding, so dinner will have to be quick to make, eat and clean up. We decided on, Creamy Parmesan One Pot Chicken and Rice So not the healthiest ever, but something Payton will eat, and I think I can hide some cauliflower in there. BONUS.

Tuesday: Tuesday night I decided to try for something a little more on the healthy side. We’re going to make Ground Turkey Sweet Potato Skillet. This one sounds delicious! Crossing my fingers that my little one will eat it without to much of a fight (I do plan on making another post once we’ve experimented some more and find some meals that she does like)

Wednesday: Carrying on with the sweet potato theme, and to use up any left overs I might have from Tuesday night, we’re going with Sweet Potato and Sausage Quinoa Bake. This one might be a bit hard on both Payton and Ryan (lol) so we’ll see how it goes but one of my goals for this 2018 is to get us all eating healthier, so we have to start somewhere.

Thursday: Chicken Avocado Burritos. Burritos are fun for my girls, so I think that will entice them to eat something like this. My littlest is very small, so trying to incorporate some healthy fats into her diet especially has been a thing for me for a while. I think having her put together her own burrito will make her more willing to try something like this. That’s my hope anyways.

Friday: Friday nights are typically pizza nights in our house! My little ladies love to make their own pizzas so I think to keep pizza crusts in my freezer. They’re so easy to pull, slap some sauce and let the girls go to town. They don’t ever look very appetizing, but they taste amazing!

Weekends are a little bit slower so we don’t tend to plan to much for those days. They’re more of a “What should we do for dinner? I don’t know, what do you think?” type of day.

I’d love to hear about your meal planning, any meals you have found that work for picky eaters, or any tips you have for implementing healthier options into our everyday life, I’m all ears!

Stay tuned!

28661225_10160017987480371_7418973233710913834_n

Leave a comment